Owner FAQs

Answers to your frequently asked questions

  • Am I required to make my property available to Section 8?

    No. It is not mandatory for any Owner to accommodate Section 8. For Owners who do not accept Section 8 and have multiple properties it must be uniform throughout. For Owners who do accept Section 8 at any of their properties, they must do so for all other properties, in accordance with Fair Housing Laws.
  • Are you licensed?

    Idaho does not require licensing for property managers nor does it have a license for Property Management; therefore no property managers in Idaho are licensed.
  • Can I reach you after hours?

    Yes. We do offer after hours emergency numbers and dispatch, and our Owners also have after-hours numbers to the Owner of Chapman Properties.
  • Can you put the money directly into my account?

    Yes. We do offer ACH payments into the account of your choice.
  • Do I get to see the lease or sign it?

    Once a lease is executed between Chapman Properties and the resident, if requested a copy can be provided to the Owner. There is no need to sign the lease as Chapman Properties is the acting agent on your behalf.
  • Do you sell real estate too?

    No. Chapman Properties specializes and has continued extensive ongoing education in property management. We leave selling real estate to our preferred list of successful real estate agents.
  • How and when do I get my checks?

    Our monthly statement process begins on or before the 25th each month for all ACH clients. We highly recommend that you opt into the ACH/Direct Deposit as that is the quickest and efficient way to receive your rental proceeds.

    Chapman Properties has also established a great online feature on our website. This allows our clients to receive an email when their statement is ready and to go online to our website, logon to your personal Owner Portal and view your statements. This can be done at your convenience and is a great new feature for our clients.

  • How is rent collection handled?

    Rent is due on the 1st of each month with a grace period of 4 days, ending at 5 p.m. on the 5th. Any rent that has not been received at that time will be subject to a 3-Day Pay or Quit Notice, which is individually hand delivered.
  • How long of a lease do you sign?

    Chapman Properties policy is to sign a 12 month lease on all properties unless specifically stated in writing by the client requesting something different.
  • How much security deposit do you charge the tenant?

    Security deposit amounts are at minimum one month’s rent but can increase based on the qualification criteria of the applicant.
  • How soon can you start managing my property?

    Once a management agreement is signed, we can start immediately.
  • What type of properties do you manage?

    Single family dwellings, duplexes, four-plexes, multiplexes.
  • Who holds the tenant security deposit?

    Chapman Properties holds the security deposit in a separate account, which will then be accounted for when the resident vacates less any damages or expenses that occur on the occupied investment.